FRA Certification Helpline: (216) 694-0240

INDEPENDENCE, Ohio, December 22 — Shane Hubbard of BLET Division 343 (Princeton, Ind.) was reelected by acclamation to his second term as Chairman of the Indiana State Legislative Board at its 15th quadrennial meeting. Terms of office for Brother Hubbard and all newly elected officers became effective November 1, 2022.

Brother Hubbard currently works as a locomotive engineer for Norfolk Southern in Princeton, Indiana. He hired out as a conductor on December 8, 1992, and has held continuous membership in the BLET since 1995. Brother Hubbard has served on the Indiana State Legislative Board’s Executive Committee since 2017, after being first appointed Alternate Secretary-Treasurer. He was first elected Chairman in 2018 at the board’s 14th quadrennial meeting held in Indianapolis, Ind.

Also elected by acclamation were: 1st Vice Chairman Matthew J. Klausing, Division 537 (Elkhart, Ind.); 2nd Vice Chairman Scott H. Brown, Division 153 (Garrett, Ind.); Secretary-Treasurer Carl W. Brown Jr., Division 246 (Evansville, Ind.); and Alternate Secretary-Treasurer M. S. (Shawn) Hollis, Division 742 (Evansville, Ind.). The following were elected by acclamation as Trustees: Jesse C. Reck, Division 106 (Muncie, Ind.); Jose Villasenor, Division 682 (Hammond, Ind.); and Ronald K. Uffelman, Division 153 (Garrett, Ind.).

The following BLET National Division officers attended the meeting, which was held virtually: National President Dennis R. Pierce; Vice President and National Legislative Representative Vince G. Verna; Director of Political Affairs Brendan P. Sullivan; and Director of Legislative and Regulatory Affairs Sean P. Simon. Illinois State Legislative Board Chairman, Chris Falaney served as a parliamentarian. Colorado State Legislative Board Chairman and 1st Vice Chairman of the National Association of State Legislative Board Chairmen Paul Pearson was also in attendance.

“I congratulate Brother Hubbard and all officers of the Indiana State Legislative Board,” President Pierce said. “I also thank them for their dedicated service to our Brotherhood.”

After earning promotion to locomotive engineer on April 6, 1995, Brother Hubbard immediately joined the BLET effective May 1, 1995. He also currently serves as the BLET Chairman of the NASLBC, as well as serving the Brotherhood as Local Chairman of Division 343 and as Fifth Vice General Chairman and Trustee of the Norfolk Southern-Southern Lines General Committee of Adjustment. Brother Hubbard most recently served as Chairman of the Legislative Committee at the BLET’s Fifth National Convention in October 2022.

The Indiana State Legislative Board represents approximately 2,000 active and retired locomotive engineers and trainmen members from 19 Divisions, which represents members who work for CSX Transportation, Norfolk Southern Railway, Canadian Pacific Railway, Indiana Harbor Belt Railroad, Amtrak, Louisville and Indiana Railroad, Chicago, Ft. Wayne and Eastern Railroad, Illinois Railway, Indiana Railroad and Indiana Southern Railroad.